Sir Edward Muteesa II’s speech on Independence Day – 9 Oct 1962 Options

Standard

Fellow Ugandans,

Ever wondered how the founder of Modern day Uganda was/has been honoured and
commemorated? Well, well, thanks to Buganda Archives, the writing is on the
wall. We commemorate the Founder of modern day Uganda every year since 9th
October 1962.

Enjoy the history.

*Sir Edward Muteesa II Independence Day Speech at Kololo*

*Fellow Countrymen,*

**

*It shall go down in history, that, it was on the 9th October, 1884, when
Ssekabaka Walugembe Muteesa I, the founder of Modern Day Uganda, breathed
his last. Ssekabaka Muteesa I was buried in his palace at Nnabulagala,
Kasubi on 25th October, 1884.*

* *

*Therefore, I feel both honoured and humbled, to be named after my great
grandfather Ssekabaka Walugembe Muteesa, and also because I have lived till
this day when the British have relinquished power into our hands, after
being under their protection for a period of 68 years.*

* *

*During that period, we have experienced moments of sadness. However, there
have also been moments of joy. Nevertheless, we thank the good Lord for His
grace, love and, all the efforts made by the Missionaries to develop our
nation and country, Uganda.*

* *

*Now, that we are independent, I appeal to you all to work with all your
might in whatever you shall do, so as to bring glory to both our kingdoms
and the State of Uganda. Let us not allow our differences in nations,
religion and colour to be a divisive factor among our people.*

* *

*God Bless Uganda,*

* *

*Sir Col. Edward Muteesa II *

* *

*Kabaka*

* *

*9th October 1962***

Courtesy of Nviiri

February 2009

About ekitibwakyabuganda

Ba Ssebo ne ba Nyabo, Twebaza Abaganda bonna abulumulirwa Obuganda . Era twebaza ne mikwano gya Buganda gyonna wonna wegiri munsi yonna. Omukutu guno gwatandikibwawo nga e’kigendererwa kwe kuyigiriza abantu ebintu ebikwatagana no’Buganda era nokuwanyisiganya ebilowozo nebanaffe abatali Baganda. Abaganda ne mikwano gya Buganda mukozese omukisa guno muwereze ebirowozo byamwe no’bubaka bwona obunaagasa Abaganda na’baana Buganda berizala mu maaso eyo. Obumu ku bubaka obuwerezebwa ku mukutu guno bugyibwa mukuwanyisiganya ebirowozo okubera kumukutu gwa Ugandan’s at Heart (UAH) Forum ogwatandikibwawo Mwami Abbey Kibirige Semuwemba. Era twebaza muzukulu wa Kintu ne Nnambi ono olw’omulimu gwakoledde bana Uganda bonna abali e’bunayira mungeri yo kubagatta mu byempuliziganya no’kutumbula okukolaganira awamu.

22 responses »

  1. Date of death for Ssekabaka Muteesa I should be 9th October 1884 and not 1894. It is a typo. Date of burial should be 25 October 1884 and not 1894. Also a typo

  2. Pingback: Sir Edward Muteesa II’s speech on Independence Day – 9 Oct 1962 |

  3. Cellulite is wide-spread among pubertal and post-pubertal women.
    One of the things I love about Activity Village’s flower coloring pages is that they’ve collected a bunch
    of beautiful, detailed flower pictures, and have even taken then time to sort them by which season (spring
    or summer) these flowers belong to. The gel fragrance directs
    I do not like at all because the product seems to evaporate too fast and it
    seemed like I was constantly having to go purchase more.

  4. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers

  5. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively
    helpful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different users like its helped me.

    Good job.

  6. The bartenders, amazed by this feat of drinking turns
    to the man and goes ‘Desperate Housewives dvd boxset’s a big effort.
    We’ve all seen the research and the studies show that the
    power of prayer is magical no matter who or what it is that you think you’re praying to.
    Wonder why the wax DJ that played before you played the same songs you were going
    to play, because you’re both playing music from a limited choice of records.

  7. After going over a handful of the blog posts on your website,
    I really appreciate your technique of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will
    be checking back soon. Take a look at my website too and tell me how you
    feel.

  8. Great information; could we get his audial speeches of our fallen very intelligent, charming and admirable King!! I am amused with the date of the death of Ssekabaka Walugembe Mukaabya Muteesa II coinciding with that of Uganda’s independence!

Leave a Reply

